Celie Twists

the-color-purple3

At least that is what I call them. If you search the hair blogs or You Tube, you will find that this hairstyle falls under many names. The names include but are not limited to, Halo Twists, Unicorn Braids, Milkmaid Braids, Goddess Braids and etc. Whether the hair is twisted or braided, I am sure the list of names continues. These are just a few of the names that I am aware of. If you click on the names I mentioned, you can view tutorials on how to achieve this hairstyle. I do not know how to cornrow so I stick to my two strand flat twists. I learned how to flat twist from Laila aka Fusion of Cultures on You Tube. Her video How-To 101: Flat Twist Basics has helped a sista out. I am not a hair styling expert at all but I can do some mean Celie Twists. I call them Celie Twists simply because they remind me of Whoopi Goldberg’s character Celie’s hair in the film The Color Purple. See the first picture above for reference. I usually do my Celie Twists on my stretched hair that I blow-dried first. I can do them without blow-drying my hair but my hair and twists do not look as neat. It’s also easier for me twist my hair if its first blow-dried. However, when it’s blow-dried too straight, the ends of my twists tend to easily unravel. When my hair is too straight, I keep the ends in place with numerous bobby pins. Though, usually in a couple of days, my hair thickens up due to humidity and heat. As a result, I then only need one or two bobby pins to hold my twists together.

I have always liked this hairstyle and I never ever thought that I would be able to do it myself. When I first started flat twisting, I could not twist my hair to make the two twists join together at the back. As a result, I used to put a bun in the back. My best friend always told me to twist my hair all the way to the back without a bun. I have finally mastered doing just that, see my pictures below. Practice makes perfect when it comes to this hairstyle. If I can master it, ANYONE can, emphasis on ANY!! I wear Celie twists ALL the time because it’s the only style that I can do. I am always amazed and extremely surprised by the compliments on my Celie twists. I have always liked them but since I wear them all the time, I’m always bored with them. Even when it’s sloppy, someone always tells me how nice it looks. The compliments are so sweet; especially when people think I paid someone to do my Celie twists. I think to myself, “Wow, people think I paid for this, I am doing something right!” Celie twists can be worn anywhere. I wear them to work all the time (not currently because I have Marley twists installed), and I have worn them to a wedding. It is a very convenient, classy, chic and simple hairstyle.

Please look at my Celie twists inspirations below ๐Ÿ™‚ Click on the highlighted names to view video tutorials and pictures!!

Baltimore Natural hairstylist Zarah Charm and her Five Minute Chic Twists

mqdefault

Simply Cre8eve and half of her Unicorn Braids

simploto

French fashion blogger Revele Toi and her lovely twists

4-2013-03-30 bis1

Nik Scott of Long Hair Don’t Care TVย ย  and the back ofย  her Halo Twist

qdefault

Romona Thomas, that girl with the hair. Check out her You Tube video for this look.

tumblr_mkt3nj1L8V1s79ol0o1_1280

Actress Tracee Ellis Ross with The Milkmaid Braid

Special Screening Of "The September Issue" At LACMA - Arrivals

milkmaid1

Actress Zoe Saldana, Image obtained from Zimbio

photo

Here are some pics of my Celie twists ๐Ÿ™‚

Last June, rocking them at a hot summer wedding โค

oo

Erica Layne captured the back of my Celie twists at The Good Hair Blog’s Big Hair and Brunch last April.

tumblr_o3ckQzc1sopx68o1_500

My Celie twists one Sunday morning before church.

1098298_10101973188501278_1808670480_n

My Celie twistsย  with the bun in the back last September.

IMG_7035

Before the Big Hair and Brunch last April. That was a great Celie twists hair day.

pho   to

Have you rocked Celie twists? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Thank you for reading and God bless you ๐Ÿ™‚

~Amma Mama

19 thoughts on “Celie Twists

  1. Pingback: Teyonah Parris ROCKS Celie Twists Again! | Amma Mama

  2. Pingback: Six Hairstyles You Can Rock This Fall - Klassy Kinks

  3. Pingback: Crochet Braids Inspiration! | Amma Mama

  4. Pingback: No More Crochet Braids! | Amma Mama

  5. Pingback: Weekend Bliss <3 | Amma Mama

  6. Pingback: Up-do Fever | Amma Mama

Leave a comment