True Life: I Was Born in the Wrong Decade

FYI*** This post has been sitting in my drafts since 10/29/14, carry on..lol 🙂

crochet braids

That’s me last Friday after seeing my childhood crush Keith Sweat perform some of his hits at the Howard Theatre in Washington DC.  I have been crushing on Keith since the 4th grade! I am now 26  {about to be 27} and he is 53, I’m still crushing!!! My earliest memory of Keith Sweat in all his fineness and glory is 4th grade circa 1996 when I first heard his hit single Twisted. I thought he was gorgeous and I still do. The older I get the more realize I was too grown at a young age. I mean I wasn’t fast or anything like that but I was def listening to older people’s music and crushing on grown men like Keith Sweat and comedian Bill Bellamy. I definitely have my oldest brother Kofi to thank for my adoration of RnB music {particularly 90s RnB}, slow jams and Tupac! My brother Kofi came from Ghana when he was 18 years old and I was about 5 years old. That was my first time meeting him. I didn’t even know I had another brother until a week before his arrival..lol We clicked and were best buds for a long time. I watched Juice with him for the first time when I was like 5 or 6! I couldn’t even finish the movie because I was so scared. I was listening to so much grown music because I was ALWAYS around Kofi, like ALWAYS. He would get me ready for kindergarten  and first grade while blasting Whitney Houston and Boyz II Men from the radio {as well as whoever was hot at the time}. Kofi had like every 90s RnB and rap cd/single and I am not exaggerating. As a result, I am 26 going on 40 and I live in the 90s {musically that is}. All I listen to is 90s RnB. I should really be 40 yrs old if not older. I’ll say 40 though because my brother Kofi is 40…lol

*Edit* :  27  going on 41 actually because he’ll be 41 this Sunday and I’m 27 now..lol But basically I should’ve been attending house parties when House Party  came out and I should’ve been in high school then, just about ready to graduate. Hence why I believe I was born in the wrong decade. I am really a 70s baby at heart, 1974 to be exact.

Kofi and I kicking it with New Edition this past summer.

Kofi and I kicking it with New Edition this past summer.

This past summer, I went to three concerts. I saw Tevin Campbell, New Edition {My FAVORITE group EVER}, and Baby Face! People flat out laugh when I tell them this but that’s real music and  the kind of music that resonates with me. I always say I am not here..lol  As in I really do live in the 90s, musically. This Friday I am going to see SWV at the Howard Theatre and I cannot wait !  My * 90s see live wish list* goes like this:

Tony Toni Tone!! {I LOVE Raphael Saadiq}

*EDIT*: I actually saw them just this past February. SADLY Raphael is NOT apart of the group anymore and he no longer performs with them. I found this out AFTER I paid for my ticket. His nephew has taken his place as lead singer and it’s just not the same. I miss my boo 😦 He has some of Raphael’s mannerisms and he even looks like him but he is NO Raphael.

Toni Braxton (One of my FAV singers. Some of her songs makes me feel like I’m in a 90s soap opera. Intense and heavy love songs.)

Joe

Maxwell

Faith Evans

Janet Jackson

Patti Labelle {She ain’t 90s  but I still want to see her live, she’s another one of my fav singers. I love my aunty Patti..lol}

Monica {I think that would be a really emotional concert. Even as a young girl I thought her music was really heavy and sad..lol I still like her though. *Ques* I will cross the ocean for you

Brandy-My 90s IDOL !!

Total

112

Tupac {Just in case he comes back b/c he’s not really dead…I kid *side eye*}

That’s all I can think of for now. Below are some clips from the concert of my #foreverbae Keith Sweat singing some of his hits such as  Twisted, Nobody, My Body and MakeitLastForever #ThatsBAE #FOREVERCRUSHING

P.S. If you watch these videos, please don’t listen with headphones. For some reason the audio is extremely loud.

“Nine one one zero zero twenty four” Ayee

Lol that’s my FAV part…lol 

*Edit:*

Isn’t he dreamy? He’s actually coming to the Howard Theatre again this Sat 4/25/15.  Although I am not going, Keith is the kind of artist I’d see over and over again. He’s just that yummy to me. I’ve seen New Edition twice, SWV twice and BBD three times! I does this..lol So far in 2015, I’ve seen After 7 (Ready or Not), Tony Toni Tone (Sans my bae Raphael), SWV, BBD and Blackstreet live.  They all performed live at the same concert, the”Valentine’s New Jack Swing” concert. Probably my worst concert experience ever..lol I am going to see Jasmin Sullivan live next Thursday and she’s the first non 80s/90s concert for me. I am only going because my BFF/concert buddy is a fan of her. The concert should be great though because she has a beautiful and rich voice.

What is your favorite era and genre of music?  What musical artist would you like to see live? Please share below as well as any of your concert experiences 🙂

Thanks for reading and have a blessed day! ❤

~Amma Mama

3 thoughts on “True Life: I Was Born in the Wrong Decade

  1. Music – 1960s; Clothes – 1950s; Movies 1940s and 1950s. I was born in 1971. I keep waiting for some 70YO man to tell me I’m the reincarnation of his long lost childhood sweetheart. About 10 years at work, I was sitting with a younger co-worker discussing who we would pay $75+ to go and see. It was a select few along the lines of singer/songwriters. Mine are the ones we can only see on film — Marvin Gaye, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin and Big Brother and the Holding Company.

    • Lol at “I keep waiting for some 70YO man to tell me I’m the reincarnation of his long lost childhood sweetheart.”… lol
      Oh Marvin Gaye for sure, DC’s own! I am just starting to learn more about Jimi Hendrix from documentaries. I need to check out the others you listed.
      Thanks for sharing and have a good weekend 🙂

  2. Pingback: True Life: It’s been 10 years since I graduated from High School! | Amma Mama

Leave a Reply

