HAPPY DR.KING DAY!!! <3

The final part of Martin Luther King’s last speech. He delivered it on April 3, 1968, at the Mason Temple in Memphis, Tennessee. The next day, King was assassinated.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
January 15, 1929 – April 4, 1968

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop.
And I don’t mind.
Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now.
I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

—from Dr. King’s speech, April 3, 1968, Mason Temple
(Church of God in Christ Headquarters), Memphis, Tennessee

king-nobel-peace-prize

Dr. King!! ❤

DSCN1837

Me at the  Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial in Washington D.C circa 2012.

Tonight at 9pm, PBS is airing Building the Dream.

Building the Dream recounts the journey of an idea for a national monument honoring Martin Luther King Jr.  from a group of friends talking around a kitchen table to the creation of this permanent symbol – to ensure King’s Dream will remain alive for future generations.

If you ever visit DC, make sure to visit this memorial. If you live in the DMV, make sure to visit this memorial. It is a beautiful tribute for an AMAZING man.

Thanks for stoping by and God bless you 🙂

~Amma Mama

 

One thought on “HAPPY DR.KING DAY!!! <3

  1. Pingback: Blog Post Review – Jan 19th-25th | Natural Hair Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

