“You Can Touch My Hair”: A Short Film {Video}

FYI: I reposted this from Urban Bush Babes .

You-Can-Touch-My-Hair-1

“Whether it’s 7-year old Tiana Parker getting sent home from school for wearing locs or Dante De Blasio’s afro being credited for giving his father a boost in the New York City mayoral race, Black hair is consistently subject to unsolicited fascination. As the final extension of a bold public art exhibit held in New York City this summer, “You Can Touch My Hair” takes a glimpse into this fascination and how black women, who are often its subjects, feel about it” -un’ruly Founder, Antonia Opiah

My two cents:
-First and foremost, I WILL be watching this on October 20th.
-Secondly, I love me some Michaela Angela Davis. I will watch any documentary with her in it.
-Thirdly, I don’t mind people touching my hair. Black people always touch it without asking. I can’t recall someone from another race asking to touch my hair or touching it without my permission. When I was relaxed, I hated for anyone to touch my hair. I was very protective of my fresh wraps. It’s not that I don’t care about people’s hands in my natural strands but I notice that I have to explain natural hair to black people more than any other race. I don’t mind at all, I like to educate my people and let them know our hair is manageable. The last person that asked to touch my hair was a black co-worker. This was about two months ago. He told me my hair looked soft and he wanted to touch it. I said sure. He always asks me questions about my natural hair. I don’t mind and I enjoy his curiosity. As long as the questions are not ig’nant { yes “ig’nant”} and condescending {I’m not here for silly questions}, they’re always welcome by me.

What do you think about people touching your hair? Do you care? Do they ask first? Please share your comments and experiences below. I want to hear from you!!!!

Thanks for reading and God bless you 🙂

~Amma Mama

4 thoughts on ““You Can Touch My Hair”: A Short Film {Video}

  1. the documentary trailer looks very interesting. I will definitely be tuning in as well! Its been a long time since someone asked to touch my hair I remember feeling uncomfortable when it happened because I felt like a spectacle. but these days, as long as the person is not being condescending then its not a problem. Black hair is a great conversation starter 🙂 thx for sharing!

  2. i’m ok with it as long as they ask first. when they don’t, it’s incredibly awkward. i think it’s cool when people are that intrigued by it and want to check it out! 🙂

  3. Pingback: You can touch my hair, Short film | Mo's Awkward Afro

Leave a Reply

