I’m going to be like Moesha

Image

Yep you heard right! Lol But instead of rocking braids 24/7, I am going to rock these Marley twists 24/7. Why? Because I don’t feel like dealing with my hair and I want my layers to grow out. My hair was cut into layers without my permission {lol} in March 2011. That was two years ago and it’s still in layers. When I had relaxed hair, it was so easy to grow out my layers. I even had bangs that grew out so fast but now that I’m natural, I don’t know what the issue is. Maybe I don’t do protective styling enough. I think that’s what it is. My hair grows so much when I just leave her alone! No heat, no constant combing and low manipulation. So, I plan to do what I know has ALWAYS worked best for my hair,  protective styling. My Marley twists have been in for about four weeks.  My sister in law re-twisted the front yesterday.  I plan to keep them in until my b-day in November. I am not sure what I will do for my 26th birthday hair {WHOOP WHOOP}. Part of me wants a really cute up-do with a dramatic pompadour {think Janelle Monae}. Like really CUTE,  and then  another part of me wants to straighten it.  All I know is, I don’t want to do it myself. I don’t want to wash it myself either. I want somebody to do it for me. I want my hair and scalp to be catered to..lol I don’t wanna do JACK! I don’t like doing my hair myself, can you tell? So I’ll see what I can get done, it all depends on my plans, my outfit, my mood, the weather and just LIFE. After my birthday, I am going back to Moesha mode, full hair hibernation. Hopefully, by next spring my fro will be all one length!! If not,I will have her cut at one one length. I am really over the layers.

This is the day I got them. Layers are cool if you plan to wear your hair straight, rock a fro or twist outs daily. However, they’re totally unnecessary if all I am going to do is put some Celie twists in and call it a day. I only got my hair pressed for my co-worker’s wedding. This was not supposed to be my new everyday look..lol The hair dresser went absolutely scissor happy and buck wild. She gave me a makeover when all I asked for was a press and trim. That’s it!

.Image

I must say the cut wasn’t all that cute once the curls dropped. I am not a high maintenance hair person so I wasn’t going to pin curl it or bump it. No ma’am. All I did was wrap it and watch it fall flat within a couple of days. I was not about that layered life. I know it may not seem like a big deal but layered hair is harder. My puffs don’t look as full and round as they used to. My Celie twists unravel easily because the front is shorter than the back. I just miss my one length days, I want that old thang back.

Image

You can REALLY see the layers in this picture. That;s me at the wedding reception.

539710_10100940163776108_1921518560_n

Yesterday, getting ready to get my front re-twisted. This time I used “Jamaican” Marley braid hair, I really liked it.

Image

Image

These are the kind of up-dos I imagine rocking for my b-day. I want something dramatic but then the plain Jane within me is shy..lol

Image

Hairstylist AfricanCreature

Image

Writer & blogger Alex of the The Good Hair Blog

How do you hibernate or protective style your hair? Leave me a comment and let me know. Thank you for reading & God bless you 🙂

~Amma Mama

7 thoughts on “I’m going to be like Moesha

  1. Pingback: Havana Twists | hot beauty hair extensions

  2. I can TOTALLY relate to you on this. I love being natural but sometimes it can be a lot of work manipulating your hair every night just to get that perfect twist out or puff in the morning. love the Marley twists and straight look on you! I’ll keep rocking my box braids as a protective style till the wheels fall off. thx for sharing 🙂

    • It can be Bopz! We protective styling outchea ! I am itching to do the straight look for my 26th though. Thanks for always reading & sometimes commenting Bopz ❤

  3. Pingback: Hair update | Amma Mama

  4. Pingback: Braids and Prints! | Amma Mama

Leave a Reply

